Orbex logo

Specification

Orbex review

The full specification for Orbex, as recorded in the database.

FSC (Mauritius)FSA (Seychelles)
6969 out of 100Sign up now

Orbex is in the bottom quarter of our hundred. In a field with this many alternatives, that is reason enough to look elsewhere before you look harder at this one. Regulated by Mauritius FSC, Investment Dealer (Full Service Dealer excluding Underwriting); Seychelles FSA, Securities Dealer, offering MetaTrader 4, MetaTrader 5, WebTrader.

Our rating

69/100
  • Regulation8.3
  • Costs8.3
  • Platforms8.3
  • Markets7.3
  • Support5.3
  • Education3.9

One rating, identical across our sites - only the way it is shown changes. It averages six assessments: regulation, trading costs, platforms, markets, support and education.

What it costs to trade

8.3/10
Spread from
0.0 pips
EUR/USD spread
1.5 pips, Starter
GBP/USD spread
1.6 pips, Starter
Commission
$0 Starter; $8 Premium; $5 Ultimate
All-in cost, EUR/USD
1.5 pips, Starter
Spread type
Variable
Overnight swap
Both: overnight swaps may be charged or credited
Inactivity fee
$20/€20/£20 per month after 4 months inactivity
Deposit fee
0% on most core methods
Withdrawal fee
0% on most core methods; some regional/provider methods charge fees
Currency conversion
Conversion at applicable exchange rate

Cost is where brokers in the same regulatory bracket actually differ.

A quoted spread from 0.0 pips is a raw-spread figure, which almost always means a separate commission per lot. Compare the two together - a "zero spread" account with a high commission can cost more than a wider spread with none.

Quoted spreads are best-case figures on the most liquid pair, in normal conditions. What you actually pay widens around news and at the session open.

Orbex lists a minimum deposit of $100. Treat it as the cost of opening an account, not the cost of trading one - position sizing on a small balance is what tends to cause damage.

Markets and execution

7.3/10
Markets
Forex, Stocks, Indices, Commodities, Metals, Energies, Futures, Cryptocurrencies
Currency pairs
40+
Total instruments
400+
Crypto CFDs
Yes
Maximum leverage
1:500
Execution model
NDD
Execution speed
0.03 seconds
Order types
Market, limit, stop, stop-loss, take-profit, trailing stop and MetaTrader pending orders
Servers
Global low-latency financial data-centre infrastructure

Leverage up to 1:500 is available on this entity. High leverage does not increase your expected return - it increases position size for the same deposit, and shortens the move needed to close you out.

Orbex covers forex, stocks, indices, commodities, metals, energies, futures, cryptocurrencies. A wider range matters less than depth in the instruments you actually trade.

Funding options: visa, mastercard, bank wire, skrill, neteller, usdt and regional payment methods. Check withdrawal routes as well as deposit ones - they are often not the same, and the difference only becomes apparent when you try to take money out.

Platforms and tools

8.3/10
Platforms
MetaTrader 4, MetaTrader 5, WebTrader
Own platform
No
Mobile app
Third-party MetaTrader apps
Browser trading
Yes
Automated trading
Yes, MT4/MT5 Expert Advisors
Copy trading
Yes
Indicators
30+ MT4, 38+ MT5 and custom indicators
Third-party tools
MetaTrader 4, MetaTrader 5, Trading Central, VPS
API access
Institutional connectivity available

MetaTrader 4 remains the most widely supported platform for expert advisors. If you rely on an existing EA, this is usually the deciding factor.

MetaTrader 5 handles more asset classes and order types than MT4, but expert advisors are not compatible between the two - an MT4 EA will not run on it.

Regulation and safety

8.3/10
Regulated by
Mauritius FSC, Investment Dealer (Full Service Dealer excluding Underwriting); Seychelles FSA, Securities Dealer
Regulator tier
Tier 2
Register entry
Mauritius FSC Register, Orbex Global Limited
Client money segregated
Yes
Held at
Approved regulated banks/payment providers; specific bank not publicly disclosed
Negative balance protection
Yes
Compensation scheme
Investor Compensation Fund protection advertised by Orbex; eligibility/entity dependent
Audited by
Independent external auditors
Not available to
United States, Iran, North Korea, Mauritius, Russia, Myanmar, Romania and other prohibited jurisdictions

Across a hundred brokers, the licence is what separates the field fastest.

Orbex's licence is offshore (FSC and FSA). Offshore entities typically offer higher leverage and lighter reporting, and compensation schemes do not apply - the trade-off is protection, not price.

An FSC licence (Mauritius or Belize, depending on the entity) is an offshore authorisation with lighter reporting duties than a tier-one regulator.

An FSA licence here is usually the Seychelles authorisation - an offshore entity, with lighter obligations than a tier-one regulator.

Client money is held separately from the firm's own money, at Approved regulated banks/payment providers; specific bank not publicly disclosed. That separation is what makes your balance recoverable if the company fails, rather than part of the pool its creditors divide up.

Negative balance protection applies, so a losing position cannot take the account below zero and leave you owing the broker money.

Covered by Investor Compensation Fund protection advertised by Orbex; eligibility/entity dependent, which pays eligible clients up to its limit if the firm fails owing client money.

Check the licence yourself: the Mauritius FSC register of licensees, the Seychelles FSA list of regulated entities.

Accounts

Minimum deposit
$100
Account types
Starter, Premium, Ultimate, Swap-Free, Demo
Account currencies
USD, EUR, GBP, PLN
Islamic account
Yes
Demo account
Yes
Professional account
Yes, professional/institutional classification available
Minimum trade size
0.01 lots
Time to open
Typically a few minutes

Orbex runs 5 account types. More choice is not automatically better: the tightest headline spread almost always sits on the account that also charges a commission, so the comparison that matters is the two added together.

Base currencies: USD, EUR, GBP, PLN. Holding the account in the currency you fund it with avoids a conversion charge on every deposit and withdrawal - a cost that never shows up in a spread comparison.

The smallest position is 0.01 lots. For anyone starting carefully this matters more than the minimum deposit, because it sets the least you can put at risk on a single trade.

A demo account is available. Worth using for the platform rather than the results: fills are simulated, so it tells you how the software behaves but very little about execution.

Deposits and withdrawals

Deposit methods
Visa, Mastercard, bank wire, Skrill, Neteller, USDT and regional payment methods
Withdrawal methods
Bank wire, Visa, Mastercard, Skrill, Neteller, USDT and regional payment methods
Deposit time
Cards/e-wallets up to 2 hours; bank wire 3-5 business days
Withdrawal time
E-wallets/USDT up to 24 hours; cards and bank wire 3-5 business days
Minimum withdrawal
$10 equivalent
Local payment methods
KNET; eNet; ZainCash; Zotapay; GateToPay and other regional methods

Withdrawals are stated at E-wallets/USDT up to 24 hours; cards and bank wire 3-5 business days, against Cards/e-wallets up to 2 hours; bank wire 3-5 business days for deposits. A gap between the two is normal and not in itself a warning sign - identity checks are a legal obligation, not obstruction. What is worth noticing is a withdrawal that keeps meeting new conditions after those checks are done.

Withdrawal routes: bank wire, visa, mastercard, skrill, neteller, usdt and regional payment methods. Money is usually returned by the route it arrived on, so the deposit method you pick is in effect the withdrawal method you are picking too.

The minimum withdrawal is $10 equivalent - relevant if you intend to fund the account lightly, since it sets the smallest amount you can take out at a time.

Support and education

5.3/10
Support hours
24/5
Contact channels
Live chat, email, phone, Help Centre
Languages
Multilingual
Telephone
+44 203 519 8170
Email
support@orbex.com
Live chat response
Typically within minutes
Education
Extensive: webinars, trading courses, ebooks, tutorials, one-on-one training, platform education and educational articles
Research
In-house Orbex Research Team, Trading Central, daily technical/fundamental analysis, market commentary and trading ideas

Support runs 24/5. Round-the-clock cover matters more than it sounds: a position held over a weekend or through an unexpected halt is exactly when you need somebody to answer.

Reachable by live chat, email, phone, help centre. A published telephone number is the one channel that is hard to fake and hard to ignore, so whether there is one says more than the number of channels does.

Languages: Multilingual. Being able to raise a complaint in your own language is worth more than it appears, because complaints are where precision matters most.

Education: extensive: webinars, trading courses, ebooks, tutorials, one-on-one training, platform education and educational articles. Treat broker-published material as an introduction rather than as advice - it is produced by a firm whose revenue rises when you trade more.

The company behind the brand

Legal entity
Orbex Global Limited
Company number
Mauritius Global Business Corporation
Headquarters
Ebene, Mauritius
Founded
2011
Publicly listed
No
Parent company
Independent
Employees
Approx. 100-200
Also trades as
Orbex

Orbex has been trading for around 15 years, through at least one full market cycle. Longevity guarantees nothing on its own, but a firm that came through 2008 and 2015 has been tested in a way a recent entrant has not.

The contracting entity is Orbex Global Limited. This is the company you would actually have a relationship with, and it is worth checking that it is the same one named on the licence you are relying on: large brokers commonly operate several, and they are not equally protected.

Part of Independent. A parent adds resources, but the protections that apply to you are the ones attached to the entity that holds your account, not to the group.

Information is regularly updated. Last compiled from Orbex's own website on 26 August 2026.

Orbex logo

Ready to open an account with Orbex?

You will go straight to their site. It costs you nothing extra, and we may be paid a commission.

Regulated by
FSC (Mauritius), FSA (Seychelles)
Minimum deposit
$100
Spread from
0.0 pips
Max leverage
1:500

Your capital is at risk. Forex and CFD trading carries a high risk of losing money rapidly through leverage, and most retail accounts lose money. Nothing on this page is a personal recommendation.

Questions people ask about Orbex

Who owns Orbex?

Orbex is independent rather than part of a larger group, and has been trading since 2011. Ownership decides who is accountable when something goes wrong, and a broker inside a listed group files accounts that anybody can read.

OrbexSign up now